Endings, Beginnings and Continuations

I really hate to be another one of those bloggers who writes about the end of the year/beginning of the new year, but I hope this post has a little bit of a different spin on the subject. I think it’s important to reflect not only on amazing new moments and endings, but it’s also important to think about the good constants that remain in your life.

Niece Mia "JingJing" Christmas Day 2010Last week, I had one of the best Christmases ever. My brother and sister-in-law finally brought home little Mia (JingJing) from China. After almost 5 years of trying to adopt, they welcomed Mia to her new home and new family in the States on Christmas Eve. JingJing is 4 years old and was living in an orphanage for a little over a year. Christmas marked the end of her days as an orphan and her new start as part of a family who loves her. She is so adorable and sweet, but she has a quite suspicious little laugh. I’m so happy to have a new niece for Christmas!

With December also comes my birthday, which started with an earthquake. I took that as a wake-up call and enjoyed a great day with my love. I feel like this birthday was more of a mile marker than past birthdays. I think this is going to be a great year. I think this year is going to bring many changes and opportunities, and I’m less fearful than I was before. I’m feeling optimistic and open to new challenges.

Above all, I’m really grateful for the constant good energy in my life. I’m very fortunate for my family and friends and all that is present in my life right now. This morning, Chad and I went to breakfast at Best Bet, and it marked one year that we’ve been ritually going there every Saturday. It may sound ridiculous to some, but something as simple as a tradition of going to a diner every Saturday morning and being greeted by everyone when you walk in the door brings me joy. And I look forward to continuing that tradition, as well as starting new ones.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

